Ashes to Ashes

Life and death. There is no greater contrast, no two things that are as polar opposite as life is to death, as all the emotions associated with life are to all the emotions associated with death.

On Friday, a friend told me that she had just found out the night before that a relative of hers had died in the Bataclan theatre last week. I hugged her as she cried, trying to comfort her but feeling totally inadequate. What could I say? What could I tell her to make her feel better? It made me think a lot about why people do things like this – how human beings can shoot innocent people. I don’t understand it. It’s confusing and scary and crazy – the world has become a confusing and scary and crazy place.

And then I found out that a teacher who I really like is pregnant and I felt so happy for her. Life and death. Devastating tragedy and then overwhelming happiness. Friday was a roller coaster of a day.

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ashes to Ashes

  1. nessyakamhi says:

    I’ve just seen this… ❤️❤️❤️

  2. And yet the two contrasting things are completely intertwined

Leave a Reply

